One Year

Below is text from the email that rocked my world:

Dear Miss Carey,

Congratulations!  We are pleased to inform you that you have been selected for a US Student Fulbright award for 2012-2013 to Korea, South.  Shortly you will receive a letter from the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board with further details of the award.

Today is a special day for me. A year ago today, on March 28, 2012, at 5:01 pm, I was informed of my status as a Fulbright grantee. Actually, the email came exactly one minute after I closed out of my email while working at the campus writing center. It was probably good thing, as I would have never been able to concentrate through my Irish Literature class. Instead, I would have thrown paper confetti everywhere as we read Ulysses. 

Yes, this year has been crazy, thrilling, and all-around a brand new thing. It’s been a fast year. I specifically remember thinking last year that “Oh, this time next year, I’ll almost be finished with my year in Korea. But I don’t have to worry, that’s a long time from now.”

Well, it wasn’t so long. I only have 108 days left in my contract. That’s just  little over three months. With my remaining time in Korea, I want to embrace as much as I can. Time is not only short, it’s blazing fast and will whip right by you in a second.

However, in this brief time, I’ve become a teacher, I’ve reevaluated my life path, and I’ve made brave new leaps in ways I could never imagine. I’ve learned a bit of Korean, learned to communicate with charades, went to Japan, flown on airplanes alone, and learned to respect the beauty of nature.

It’s funny what a year can do. It’s going to be great to see what the next 108 days hold.

Here’s to the year that was and the year that will be.

geon bae!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

