Monday Short: Life is not a race.

Teaching abroad really makes you rethink some of your goals and predicted outcomes. This morning, I was thinking of my life in the world that is not Korea. What will I do? How will I do it? Where will I end up?

These are all questions I have asked myself, but this morning, I discovered that I am in too much of a hurry. During my time as an undergraduate, I saw myself earning a PhD before the age of 30 and being a general know-it-all. Now that I’m teaching and making stacks of cash (well, not really), I’ve realized how much the world has to offer outside of the walls of the academy.  However, I’m afraid that I may never return to school. What if I want to teach abroad again? What if I get a job I don’t want to leave? What if, what if, what if has dominated my mind over the past few weeks.

Life may be full of tough decisions, but if I’ve learned anything while in Korea, it’s that life is not a race. I’m not on a timeline and no one is ticking off accomplishments on a massive life-long to-do list.

No, life is not a race.

geon bae!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

