The life that is to come: a short thought.

By “the life that is to come,” I mean when life hits July and my time in Korea is over. I know, it’s just March, but may the Lord have mercy, that’s three months into the year. I only have four more months left in Korea. This time last year I was like “Heck yeah, senior orals and graduation and half price boneless buffalo wings at Applebee’s and life getting started and woaaahhhhh!” Now I’ve slowly transitioned into teacher mode: that frame of mind where everything reminds you of a potential lesson and that my friends, is a great place to be.

But it’s oddly strange, as I mentioned a few posts ago, that I’ve already started thinking about life after Fulbright. This should not be happening. I’ve already been with my host family for 6 months. This place is home. This time cannot be coming to such a fast, grinding stop. Yes, I know we have four months, but four months is but a drop in the bucket compared to the whole eight months that have zoomed by me. It’s strange and unreal how time flies by you without a single thought.

Next week my new semester begins. Next week is when life will begin to zoom by me without a care in the world. It’s like the past few months have slipped right out of my hands. I’m determined as ever to make my time in Korea count. I hope you’re along for the remainder of the ride.

geon bae!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

