Super Quick in Seoul

What have I been up to Seoul? Let’s have a look!

  • Taco Bell. Enough said.
  • Visited the Seoul Museum of Art. I also toured the Tim Burton exhibit at the museum, which was a delight. If you’re not familiar with Burton, he is the mind and director behind films such as Edward Scissorhands, The Nightmare Before Christmas, Corpse Bride, Sweeny Todd, The Planet of the Apes (2003/4 version), and most recently, Dark Shadows. Though I’m not a huge Burton fan, I have enjoyed many of his animated films and couldn’t wait to see animation and drawings from his personal collections. There were even screenings of two of his short films from 1983: Vincent and Hansel and Gretel. My favorite part of the exhibit was the over 90 bar napkins Burton had used to animate his characters. 
  • Insadong. A friend and I visited the famous Insadong market, which sells typical, toursity Korean souvieners for those willing to shell out. Dad, if you’re reading this, you’re early Father’s Day present is on the way. Mom, your Mother’s Day gift will be sent at a later date. Can’t tell why beause it will ruin the suprise. 
  • SeaLaLa. Once again, I found myself in a jimjalbang or segregated public bath called SeaLaLa. I love the sauna and the relaxation. Some people find it repulsive or shameful, but I saw when in Rome (or Korea), do as the Romans. It has a water park, massages, and sleeping rooms, but my friend and I opted for just sweating (and freezing) if out in hot and cold pools. 
  • Lunarich Pizza and Pasta. An Asia-based Italian bistro chain, I shared great pizza, pasta, and steak salad with a friend for a reasonable price. 
  • White hot chocolate at Hollys Coffee (That’s right, not apostrophe for “Hollys,” it drives me crazy). 

I have one more full day in Seoul, and even I don’t know what I’m up to. Here’s to one more day of Seoul!

geon bae!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

