Tuesday Short: Things I did in Seoul

On Saturday, I packed my backpack, hopped on a domestic flight, and headed for fabulous Seoul, the capitol of South Korea,  all on my own. Here’s what I did:

  1. I ate at TGIFriday’s, one of my favorite restaurants, for the first time in almost six months. Granted, I was a bit nervous going on my own (due to the language barrier), but the menu was all in English and the ordering process was seamless.  May it be written that I had a burrito with nachos for the first time in six months. It cost a pretty penny, but it was worth every single won. I even at the jalapeno peppers on my nachos. Heck, American pop music was playing in the background. It was a good meal.
  2. I ate at Taco Bell. Twice. In one day. It’s been a crazy six food-months, everybody. I noticed that at Taco Bell in Korea, portion sizes are much smaller, and this includes smaller cup sizes. I ordered a grilled stuffed burrito (GSB) with chicken for lunch and it was the size of a basic burrito. In the States,  a GSB is the size of three burritos. For dinner, I ate a bulgogi taco and bulgogi burrito combo. I was a little wary of combining Korean barbecue with Mexican (okay, this is Taco Bell, so “Mexican”) flavors, but Taco Bell Korea did not disappoint.
  3. I visited Kyobo Bookstore again, and I may or may not have bought three more books (I have no control in a bookstore). Even though the store was packed tight and stuffed to the gills, everyone was polite and kind. Despite the long lines at the cashier’s stand, there was no hint of complaint, just people standing in line politely with their books.
  4. I attended the Anglican Cathedral of Seoul’s English Mission for Sunday services and Eucharist.
  5. Finally went to Smoothie King, which is a delicious smoothie chain that is non-existent in Kentucky, except for the city of Louisville.
  6. I stayed at a hostel. I slept in a 8-bed all-female room, which was full all weekend. Needless to say, I didn’t get much sleep with all the racket. Next time I may invest in a single room so I can actually get sleep.
  7. I almost went to Lotte Cinema to see The Hobbit. I won’t judge you if you won’t judge me: but I’ve never read any of the Lord of the Rings books or seen the movies. I don’t know why, I just never got around to it. I was bound to make amends, but I was very confused by the ticket purchasing procedures at the theaters.
  8. Did I mention I love traveling on the A’REX in Seoul? Essentially, it’s super quick, super cheap, and a good excuse to ride a train into
    Seoul from the airport. It’s the little things.
  9. This weekend, I flew EastarJet, a Korean budget airline. It has cheap fares and does not disappoint. My only concern is if you are tall (like myself), you may find your knees touching the seat in front of you.

This was my weekend and it was great. I love solo travel and I hope to go to Seoul more throughout the remainder of my grant year. On Friday, I will finish my first semester of teaching and begin a 2-month winter vacation. Tokyo and USA, here I come!

geon bae,

Sarah

One thought on “Tuesday Short: Things I did in Seoul

Leave a Reply

