Wednesday Short: NaNoWriMo

#winning

Ladies and gentlemen, today I hit the 50,000 word mark and was declared a NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) winner. This is the first time I have written a full-novel with a beginning, middle, and end. I  have never been so relieved to finish something in my life (well, pretty darn close). I started out two days ago almost a whole week behind schedule. This was gnawing at me, as the gaps were caused by a three-day lull because of my visit to Seoul and various other commitments. But today, with two of my classes cancelled, I went into typing overdrive and took out over 10,000 words in the past two days.

Writing has always been therapeutic for me. I started blogging at the urging of a professor and I just kept on typing. I have been writing in composition books since my early, early elementary days, writing stories of my wildest imagination. Maybe it’s why I became an English major. Moreover, the Fulbright lifestyle has allowed me time to write with literary abandon after school.

I simply love the art of writing.

What I love about writing is that I don’t write for anybody but me. Selfish? Maybe. However, I love being able to write fiction for my own enjoyment. It’s one thing I don’t produce for the masses and its comforting to know that I have created something that I can turn back to in the future.

Now with NaNo over, I can focus on regular blogging and clear thinking. Here’s to creativity, here’s to writing, and here’s to the month that was November.

geon bae!

Sarah

One thought on “Wednesday Short: NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

