Monday Short: Eyes

Today in class, a student said “Teacher, your eyes change color. Sometimes they are blue, sometimes they are gray.”

I explained that sometimes, when I wear different colors, my eyes look different. When I wear blue, they look more blue. When I wear a darker color, they look gray. This amazed the students, as they had no idea that eyes could look different based on clothing.

My eyes have become the source of much attention in Korea. Some students ask if all Americans have blue eyes, while some can’t get over the fact that blue eyes actually exist in people’s heads.

It’s funny what will impress students or blow their minds. Sometimes all it takes is the fact that you might have a pair of blue eyes, that in my students’ word, “look like the sky.”

Leave a Reply

