Saturday Short: The Great American Food Coma

Fortunately, in Korea (and unlike the US), I don’t find myself on the brink of a food coma once a week. Koreans typically eat lighter fare for all meals, unlike a majority of American families. Today though, I’m on the brink of an American-style food coma. You know, the “I’ve eaten so much I might fall over right now” food coma.

I live in the southernmost town in the southernmost province in South Korea. Therefore, if I want to go somewhere else on the island, I have to take a bus. Today, I took a two-hour round trip bus voyage to Jeju-si. Paying 3,000 won each way for the journey, I was eager for heavy Western-style fare. Sure, I could have went to a fast food burger place in Seogwipo, but I was feeling adventurous.

Upon my arrival in Jeju-si  (Jeju City for the folks back home), I had what was named “Big Beef Burger” from the Lotteria and two fried mozzarella sticks (which is marketed as a desert). Granted, the burger had more lettuce than beef, but by the time I was finished eating, I was nearing “Sit down, this is going to make you sleep” fullness. Despite the onset of a food coma, I enjoyed every bit of it. And not to waste a good afternoon in fabulous Jeju City, I indulged in a heart-shaped doughnut (with TWO kinds of filling) and a strawberry smoothie. Was my one hour visit to the other side of the island worth it? Absolutely.

Remember, I don’t always take long bus trips, but when I do, it’s in the name of the Great American Food Coma.

geon bae and happy food travels,

Sarah

 

2 thoughts on “Saturday Short: The Great American Food Coma

  1. Americans just do everything bigger. But yeah, even though I diss American food culture and praise cultures that eat slow, lighter and real meals… I still gotta get my fix for my big fat juice burgers and crunchy fries cravings from time to time. Anyhow, nice to see this article. I studied abroad in S. Korea for a semester, and unfortunately, I never made it down to Jeju.

    • Glad you enjoyed it and thanks for stopping by! Yes, American food culture has many faults, and I discuss this with my family back in the US. Though I love Korean food made by my homestay family, I too need the occasional Lotteria and Dunkin’ Donuts fix.

Leave a Reply

