Friday Short: I used to be like you.

Today I was giving a speaking test to my third graders (9th grade for those back home). The students memorized the first two stanzas of a short poem and for all the points in the universe, they repeated the poem back to me. Overall, my students did very well speaking a second language.

In between student presentations, I watched my students work independently and talk. It was then that I realized: I used to be like you. I used to be in middle school.

Despite the negativity associated with middle school, I can honestly say that middle and high school were relatively happy times for me. These were times of security and thoughtfulness. I knew what I wanted out of life and my only problems were math class. While my college years were great, they did complicate some matters of life for me.

Back to the story.

As I watched my students, I fondly remembered middle school. I remember reading in between classes or writing in my notebook after I was finished with work. Though I don’t know the personal lives of all of my students, I do know what it was like to be a middle school student. It was simple fun to watch my students interact with each other in between their speaking exams.

Yes, girls, I used to be like you. Before I was a teacher, I used to be just like you.

geon bae,

Sarah

One thought on “Friday Short: I used to be like you.

Leave a Reply

