Tuesday Short: Changing the way we do business.

For the past four days, I’ve been attending the Fulbright English Teaching Assistant Fall Conference in Gyeongju-si. That means not only did I get to ride an airplane and an “express bus,” but I did teacher things.

I was a little wearied by the idea of teacher’s conference. I know, I know, I’m a teacher, I should be actively pursuing professional development. You see, while I love and enjoy teaching, there are days (like most jobs) that really wear me thin. I didn’t want to talk about those days in small groups or even in a large setting, I just wanted to move on.

However, in true Fulbright-quality fashion, I was not disappointed or regretful of my weekend. Through carefully planned workshops and sharing sessions, I learned more about catering to my students on a more personal level. While I won’t go into detail here, I was reminded that each student is worthy of my attention as a foreign English teacher.

I am renewed and ready to try new things in the classroom. This weekend was truly a blessing and I hope that I can be the teacher my students deserve.

geon bae from a different kind of south,

Sarah

PS – The Western breakfast served every morning really helped, too. Go toast and butter!

Leave a Reply

