Wednesday Short: Good People

Back home, I was surrounded by good people. Here in Korea, I’m surrounded by good people. Right now there’s a teacher handing out tubes of mango ice treats.

My home stay family is exceptional. Last night, my host father stood in my bedroom door and said “Kentucky has 4 million people.” As it turns, out he’s correct. I found out he was researching Kentucky facts while at work. Host mom always makes sure that I feel at home. Sure, they could pocket the home stipend provided by my school and have said “Well, here’s your bedroom,” when I arrived almost a month ago, but they didn’t.

My host school treats me well. I have my own classroom  with three outstanding co-teachers. I couldn’t ask for a  better situation and if another ETA asked me to switch placements, I would not change a darned thing. Perhaps this is one of the few times in my life where I wouldn’t change anything.

Everybody here is good people.

geon bae from a different kind of south,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

