Thursday Short: In the business.

I’ve decided that even though I’m in the process of applying to a graduate program in English, I’m going to fervently pursue a teaching job when I return to the United States.

I love the academy. Anyone who knows me well, knows that I belong in the walls of an educational institution. Now that I am finished with my undergraduate career and am employed as a teacher in South Korea, I realize how much I truly enjoy teaching. Yes, I still wholeheartedly plan to become a Ph.D. and teach at the college/university level. I still love literature (of the Medieval English variety), too.

However, right now I’m in the business of teaching. I like the job, the steadiness of the schedule, and let’s be honest, I like getting paid to do what I love. I never thought I’d say to myself “Hey, let’s ponder the idea of delaying graduate school for one or two more years.”

But alas, Korea makes you do crazy things. Like eat live sea food, take the subway alone, and to recommit yourself to teaching in the secondary schools.

Geon bae from a different kind of south,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

