Wednesday Short: As it turns out, my students don’t hate me.

“Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.”

– The Jesus Prayer

Today, I was ten seconds from making a whole class be completely silent and put their heads down. I was that close.  However, I decided to just keep teaching my lesson and eventually, everyone focused. Sometimes you just have to plow through and hope for the best.

I gave this particular class a stern stare and told them to be quiet. I was sure that after this class, they would all hate me. All my Wednesday classes were going to hate me. I was the worst teacher ever. Everybody (read: students) hates me. I was already modifying The Jesus Prayer to fit my own needs by saying “Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, the worst ETA to ever set foot on Korean soil.”

As it turns out, my students don’t really hate me. They’re still saying “Hello!” to me in the hallway and still stopping by to chat at my cubicle. Even after stern looks and reminders of “If you’re talking, you’re not listening,” students still think I’m kind of neat.

Am I in the profession to be liked? No. Not all teachers will be loved by all of their students. However, today, in the midst of nine kinds of chaos, I realized that actually, my students don’t hate me at all.

Geon bae from a different kind of school in a different kind of South,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

