Tidbits of Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Tidbits for Tuesday, August 7th, 2012. 

I got on my first public transit bus ever for the first time on Sunday. It was so exciting and the bus terminals were almost like airports, with shopping and places to eat.  

I just downloaded the Fulbright “Town and City Guide,” telling me all the neat things I can do in Seogwipo when I arrive. The neat thing about island life, I think, is the ability to go everywhere without going anywhere.

I think I’ve narrowed down my graduate school application list. I’ll talk about that later, I’ll plan for the here and now.

Friday, my lesson plan for my first day of class at my school is due. What real life! Also, I’m leading a teaching workshop about setting routines for students. I don’t care what age they are, students freaking love routines. Even if they don’t think they do.

I’ve really enjoyed my time here in Korea, though there’s times I wished I had access to fried toast and macaroni and cheese. Some old-timey food, you get my drift here?

I’m also trying to plan out my classroom rules. Rules are important, and even more important when they’re properly enforced.

I’m slowly learning that it’s okay to be perceived as the strict teacher. I’ve learned that regardless, students usually love you anyway.

Dunkin’ Doughnuts. All over this place. I even think there’s one in my neighborhood when I arrive in Seogwipo. I like their smoothies, as you can see above, and can even order in Korean.

As it turns out, I’m pretty good at “functional Korean” language skills. If you ever get a chance, learn a few words from a different language.

Good early morning America, and geon bae from a different kind of south,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

