Seogwipo Girls.

Seogwipo Girls.

It sounds like the name of a dramatic movie. Or the name of a book of poetry. Regardless, I’ve received my teaching placement for the

Find Jeju Island. I’ll give you a hint. It’s an island.

Fulbright ETA Program. Beginning August 22nd (or a few days after), I’ll be teaching in the city of Seogwipo, located on Jeju Island  (South Korea). I don’t think I could have asked for a better placement than the Seogwipo Girls’ Middle School.

At this point of Orientation, I am now focused on becoming the best teacher for my Seogwipo girls. I wanted to teach at an all-girls school since one of our visits to an all-girls high school in a nearby province. I instantly felt a connection to the idea of single-sex education. Call me cliched, dreamy, or even stupid, but I truly want to change lives during my time on Jeju Island. Anybody who wants to be a teacher says that. All teachers want to touch all the lives all the time and make all the differences. I guess I’m in that boat, too. I want my students to remember me as the foreign teacher from America that came to school, taught English, and carved out time for her students. Even if my students don’t remember my name, if they can remember something I did for them, I think that’s all that matters.

Pray for my students. It all seems so real now.

In other news:

  • Seogwipo is the southern most placement for ETAs. It’s like I’m in a different kind of south in a different kind of south. I was also told that my American accent is the equivalent to the way citizens on Jeju Island speak Korean. We can speak our wonk languages equally and maybe I’ll pick up Jeju-style Korean phrases.
  • Cheesecake here in Korea is more like real cake with cream cheese flavor. You should come and try some. For serious.
  • I had fried chicken  at a local eatery today. It wasn’t like mama makes it, but it was chicken. With a golden skin.

Good afternoon America and geon bae from a different kind of south,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

