Tidbits for Thursday 2012, July 26.

Tidbits, because a whole post would exhaust me.

I’ve been busy here in South Korea, but I truly feel at home. In fact, after returning from the beach last weekend, I wrote “We finally made it home” (after a 7-hour bus ride that was meant to be 3!) Maybe that means I’m adjusting well.

My parents sent a great package with goodies and workout clothes. If you’re reading this, that was the most excellent package ever.

I’ve been thinking about my introductory lesson for when I’m placed in my school. I filled out my preference form on Sunday night, but I’ll leave things to the good Lord and Fulbright.

I’ve been walking every night and it has been a great stress relief.

After 21 days in Korea, I’ve discovered that I haven’t seen many birds flying in the sky here. At home, we’ll have a mass of birds fly across the clear blue, but not here. I can’t even recount seeing one bird. I wonder why that is?

Korea has hot water fountains. For making instant coffee, instant tea, or any hot beverage. I’m still in awe.

Jade turtles in a museum, for your enjoyment.

I think it’s about time for another BBQ pizza.

I’m also contemplating getting contacts. In Korea, you get a quality eye exam and your lenses all in one day (name brand, too!) for very cheap (around 50 US dollars). I might take a leap and see if I like contacts. ‘Cause I’m brave like that.

Tomorrow is the Feast of St. James. If you’re in the neighborhood, you should join St. Aidan’s Anglican Church at 7 p.m. for a special High Mass and reception in honor of this follower of Our Lord. If I were stateside, I’d totes be going.

Skyped with my dad this morning. It was great to hear a voice back home (first time in 21 days).

I also discovered that I’m pretty good at reading the Korean number system. 

I’m reading The Cloister Walk right now and also Dracula. I know. It’s a weird combination.

Good morning America and geon bae from a different kind of south,

Sarah

3 thoughts on “Tidbits for Thursday 2012, July 26.

  1. Glad you’re adjusting well! 😀 Loving the jade turtles. ^__^

    “Dracula” is an interesting book. It was more dark drama for me than an outright horror novel, if that makes sense. lol

  2. I have enjoyed reading your post. You are a brave young lady. Seems like such a great adventure. “The true adventurer goes forth aimless and uncalculating to meet and greet the unknown fate.” O.Henry

    • It’s so good to hear from you! I’m having a great time here and I’m loving every minute of it! I’m still getting used to the food, but I’ll have a whole year to acquire a taste for it. I also love that quote!

Leave a Reply

