White belts, language lessons, and obedience: tidbits.

Tidbits: When I’m too tired to string my thoughts together.

– Language lessons have taught me about obedience since last week. As a blossoming Benedictine, I’m attempting to discern what obedience is and how to live it out in my daily life. If you’ve ever tried to learn a new language, then you’ll probably catch my drift. It requires daily attendance, practice, making mistakes, and taking correction. This is what the Christian life looks life, actually, this is what the obedient Christian life looks like. Like Korean language classes.

Yeah, that’s me in my taekwondo uniform as I take my own picture in the mirror.

I received my white belt in taekwondo today, but don’t get too excited. It’s the lowest level belt and our uniforms finally arrived. We’re learning how to position our bodies and how to kick properly. Granted, it’s tedious, but nobody ever started out as a black belt. I think I’d like to continue my taekwondo training once I arrive at my placement.

– Tomorrow (Tuesday, July 17) is Western breakfast day in the Jungwon University cafeteria. That’s what I was told and last Tuesday, we had fried egg sandwiches. Manna from heaven in a place where the food is still taking some time to get used to. However, Koreans find lots of ways to make egg in delicious ways.

– I’m also learning to slow the heck down. While in the shower I was thinking about my post-Fulbright plans (crazy, yes), and for a while, I’ve been flirting with the idea of going into the library science field with a concentration in English literature. Yet still, I want a PhD in English. I’m still going to apply for an MA in English, but I’m going take a leap and apply for a Master’s in Library Science at the University of Kentucky. The PhD will be there soon enough. I’m learning to breathe and slow down.

– If Camp Fulbright has taught me anything, it’s that ESL lesson planning is a horse of a different color. It’s very different teaching native speakers of English as opposed to non-native English speakers. I’m up for the challenge. That’s why I’m here.

Last night, I had this dream where I was placed with the best host family in the world during my stay here in South Korea. It was delightful. Before bed, I finally busted out the photo album from home. I expected a wave of emotion, but I felt slightly reminiscent. No painful homesickness, thankfully. I know my parents (oh, hai!) are probably reading this, and I love home, but I’m just not there now. I’m in Korea and…

I’m learning to make South Korea my home. We ask “Where are you from back home?” which is a legitimate question. Now, I’m training myself to view South Korea as my home for the next year.

Last, but not least, I’m thinking about winter break plans. I know it’s early, but my mind always churns. I’m intent on travelling this year, and it seems like I’m so much closer to the rest of the world now that I’m out of the United States. In my dreams, I would love to travel to England for a few days to visit the Shrine of Julian of Norwich, tag around Norwich, and then fly home for a days. That would be delightful.

geon bae and sweet dreams from a different kind of south.

-Sarah

3 thoughts on “White belts, language lessons, and obedience: tidbits.

  1. “It requires daily attendance, practice, making mistakes, and taking correction. This is what the Christian life looks life, actually, this is what the obedient Christian life looks like.”

    Yep… coasting by day-by-day is so much easier than taking the much narrower road of obedience. But not NEARLY as rewarding, and we don’t grow by coasting. 🙂

    One step at a time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

