Perspective.

Today is July 13th, 2012.

In 365 days, I will be returning to the United States, and I probably won’t return to South Korea for a very long time. That’s not to say that I may not visit home during my long winter break, but 356 days from now, I will be departing South Korea for a long, long while.

Let’s think about the perspective of my time here:

In 365 days, I will teach.

In 365 days, I will improve my Korean language skills.

In 365 days, I will have seen things my mind could only imagine.

In 365 days, I will have learned to eat new foods.

In 365 days, I will have learned to navigate a vastly different culture, both physically and emotionally.

In 365 days, there will be bad days.

In 365 days, there will be good days.

In 365 days, I will have a new perspective.

In 365 days, I will know more about myself.

In 365 days, I will be a different person.

in 365 days, I will have more stories to tell.

In 365 days, I will look back on my year and say that “I’m Sarah Carey, and I was a Fulbright ETA.”

Leave a Reply

