My Fulbright Story

June 16th, 2012

On July 4th, 2011, the Provost and Dean of the College suggested that I apply to teach as an ETA through the Fulbright Program. Since 1990, Georgetown College has boasted 23 Fulbright Fellows, I was an English major, a student in the Department of Education, and I had experience in the Georgetown College Graduate School ESL program. On top of that, I’ve been around the world, but never the Far East. It seemed like a good chance to take (even though I’m not the boldest of risk takers). 

During my student teaching semester, I worked on my application and a week before the deadline, I submitted my final product. After hours of crafting essays and overcoming doubts, I didn’t look back. Throughout the rest of the semester, I waited and waited. Then, in January, I was notified of my status as a finalist for the grant award to South Korea. I was overwhelmed with excitement, but eventually, I was put back into the cycle of waiting.

And waiting some more. Going to class and waiting. Going out with friends and waiting. Talking to my other finalist friends and waiting. We did a lot of waiting. Finally, on March 27th, 2012, I was notified that I was accepted to receive a Fulbright grant to teach as an ETA for the 2012-2013 academic year. I was overwhelmed with happiness. I was overwhelmed with nervousness. Most importantly, I was happy to be offered the privilege to represent the United States in South Korea.

Today, I am a little over two weeks from my departure date (July 3rd). As I prepare for the final phases of my journey, I ask for your prayers for all 80 of us, that we’ll be safe, happy, and successful as teachers in world that is different from our own.

This is my Fulbright story, but just the first half. I look forward to sharing the rest of my journey with you.

geon bae! 

Sarah

4 thoughts on “My Fulbright Story

  1. Wishing you a good journey and a fruitful teaching season. What a wonderful opportunity to experience a different culture and see a part of the world few are privileged to see. Looking forward to posts about your experiences.

Leave a Reply

